Iverson Bell Award

Iverson Bell Award

The next Iverson Bell Award will be announced in 2018.


Nominees may be an individual within a college/school of veterinary medicine or external to a college/school of veterinary medicine. The individual need not be a veterinarian.

Who may nominate

Any individual employed at an AAVMC member institution.


The awardee will be notified in December 2018. The awardee is expected to attend the AAVMC Annual Conference and Iverson Bell Symposium in March 2019 to receive the award and make a presentation on the topic of diversity in veterinary medical education. Awardee's reasonable costs (registration, travel, housing, meals) for attending the Annual Conference will be covered by AAVMC. The awardee is encouraged to submit their presentation to the Journal of Veterinary Medical Education for publication.

What to submit

1.    Nomination letter addressing the award criteria (see below)
2.    Supporting documentation, not to exceed 10 single-sided pages

Where to submit materials

Materials should be submitted by email to awards@aavmc.org.

Award criteria

  1. A demonstrated commitment to promoting diversity and inclusion in academic veterinary medicine through contributions that may have impact in any area–college, local area or region, state and/or national arenas.
  2. Played a significant role in the recruitment, development, and retention of pre-vet and DVM students, faculty, residents and interns from underrepresented or disadvantaged and/or marginalized groups.
  3. Included and promoted diversity in the veterinary medical profession through the inclusion/infusion of diversity issues in the college environment through programming and curriculum additions.
Award committee

The AAVMC Diversity Committee appoints the award committee from among its members.

Background of the award and recent past recipients

The biennial Iverson Bell Award is given in memory and recognition of Dr. Iverson Bell's outstanding leadership and contributions in the promotion of diversity in veterinary medical education.

Past recipients of the Iverson Bell Award

       2017    Dr. Allen Cannedy
       2015    Dr. K. Paige Carmichael
       2013    Dr. Ronnie Elmore
       2011    Dr. Willie Reed
       2009    Dr. Tracy Hanner
       2007    Dr. Halcyon Watkins
       2005    Dr. James Coffman
       2003    Dr. Alfonza Atkinson
       2001    Dr. Louis Archbold
       1999    Dr. Eugene Adams
       1997    Dr. Sylvia Graham
       1995    Dr. Albert Dade
       1993    Dr. Walter Bowie
       1991    Ms. Patricia Lowrie
       1989    Dr. Billy Hooper
Thursday, April 12, 2018

AAVMC Establishes Guidelines for Internships at Academic Institutions

read more Wednesday, April 4, 2018

AVMA, AAVMC Form Veterinary Futures Commission

read more Thursday, March 15, 2018

AAVMC Annual Meeting Focuses on Innovation in Education

read more Thursday, March 15, 2018

AAVMC’s CIVME Funds Second Round of Annual Educational Research Grants

read more Journal of Veterinary Medical Education